No Good News January

So here is my writing update for the last couple of weeks – linking with Stephanie and her Writing Warriors updates here.

  • my ego suffered terribly after a few rejections of my poems last month – I know … I know – this is the way life goes but it made me question my writing skills/talent..or face lack thereof. Anyway, I am back, writing and poeting and I am determined to learn from my rejections. Lesson number one – do not send out your work too soon. Hold off if you can and review, review, get a second opinion, forget about the poem for a few weeks and then cut, cut, cut and review again!
  • I have drafted another poem as a result of my writing prompts- this time a Culinary Poem – this is how it starts:

Lament Home, London 2010

For the mothers left behind with their backs curved,

new moons of boiled potatoes upturned.

For the empty plates, laid out in the usual place.

(it is still work in progress so I am not disclosing more ;-)

So dear readers, off to scribble some more verse and see you soon!

And the moral from this story is – yes, you will not always hear that you are the next Sylvia Plath/Ted Hughes but pick yourself up, write a poem about it (I did … it contains a lot of swearing – Sweary Poetry Therapy is very effective!) and move on.

For the love of poetry, keep writing!

10 thoughts on “No Good News January

  1. Well I know I may not be a publishing house, but I *love* your writing and if I could publish it I would. Whilst I totally sympathise with how the rejection affects you, I’m so pleased that you’ve used sweary poetry to get back on that horse. Keep writing for you have a lot of readers who love it, and your time will come. xx

  2. I also love it and the opening of that poem is just so beautiful and evocative. I wish there was a way to switch off our feeling when it came to sending out the work we do. I am convinced we need to do this in someway to survive creatively, but I don’t know how. Time and time again I read stories of people who suffered years of rejection before they found any success. I went to Drama school and the people who are still working are the ones who refused to give up. I couldn’t handle the rejections, they felt so personal even though they were not, usually you just have the wrong colour of hair or they have a friend lined up or they have someone that looks like you or some other random thing that you can’t control and that is no indication whatsoever of your ability. I don’t know what the answer is but when I figure it out I will let you know!

    • Ah – swearing helps! Auditions – it must be so difficult – I know I would not last 5 minutes :-) I think you are right – the ones who succeed just keep going so i guess the answer is: grow a very thick skin and remember why you are writing in the first place :-) Thank you for all your support!

  3. I love the last line of this post! I’ve been reading your poems for a while through #prose4T and as far as I’m concerned you definitely have talent! Rejection is tough. I was rejected too this week and I often doubt my own abilities wildly. As much as I love blog-hopping and reading other people’s work, the talent can be pretty intimidating at times. And you are someone whose talent I am intimidated by so really, really REALLY don’t give up! I like the look of this new poem too. #writingwarriors

  4. Ah – I enjoy your writing too and hope you keep writing! It is both intimidating and wonderful to see so much talent out there, but you are one of them :-) *raising a glass* – cheers to that!

  5. Sorry to hear you’ve had to deal with rejections…. always rubbish. It’s never nice, not for anyone. Glad you have picked yourself up and back on the job of poeting. And I think you are very talented, immensely evocative with your words. X

Your turn to have a say...

