Haiku

Haiku

A Japanese poem.  A contracted form of haikai no ku ‘light verse’.  It has seventeen syllables, in three lines of five, seven, and five, traditionally evoking images of the natural world.

After some head scratching, nail biting and pondering I decided to scribble some poetry and show it to the cyber world.  So here are my three haiku and motherhood inspired poems. 

Dummy in my shoe

Far away, a baby cries

Pink cherry blossom

H1

Child’s hand in mine

Two shadows on the pavement

Seven seagulls shriek

h2

Water splish-splash

Evening bath – silver laugh

Cross car horn outside

h3

18 thoughts on “Haiku

  1. Pingback: Haiku Forecast | Edward Hotspur

  2. I love these! My favourite is the last one and that crass car horn – we’ve all been there, baby just put down and we freeze as a crass horn blares, or lorry reverses or train hoots its horn! Love it x

    • Thank you 🙂 I know, we have a very noisy dog next door always barking at the same time at night argh…the car horns can drive me mad sometimes too – I would ban them. Hell hath no fury like a mother scorned!x

  3. These are all great. I particularly loved the last one. I think it’s fantastic that people are trying out different types of poetry. Thank you for linking to Prose For Thought xx

  4. Pingback: Scribbling Away In Nano Seconds | EssayBoard

Your turn to have a say...

