Blog Your Heart Out

Image

The hilarious Cathy from the Wicked World of Lucas has recently surprised me with a fab nomination for a ‘Blog Your Heart Out’ Award.  If you have never read Cathy’s blog, you are missing out on a few giggles!

Blog Your Heart Out Award is about answering five questions (honestly!) and nominating five great bloggers.

Here are my answers:

1. What/Who encouraged you to start blogging?

I have always been an obsessive writer and reader but I have a very short attention span and used to lack discipline.

I have a theory that road to hell is paved with writers’ unfinished ‘projects’, especially mine… And so one day I had this idea, why not try blogging?  That way if I had any readers (even if it was just one) I would feel bad if I did not live up to their (my imaginary) expectations.

In the meantime, I gained a following of real readers, re-gained my confidence as a writer, had a poem published in a magazine, released my first ebook and I have discovered so many inspiring and talented bloggers.

The bloggy universe has no limits!

2. How did you choose what topics to blog about?
I get inspired by anything, from Peanut’s daily antics to something I have heard on the radio or read in the paper and as ‘chaotic’ as it may sound I do not have a strict plan for my blog.

Somehow it has evolved into a mix of poetry, parenting and odd cartoons and who knows what’s around the corner!

3. What is something most people don’t know about you?
When I was a teenager someone asked me to write a poem for them, they then submitted it to a big poetry competition run by a publishing house and my poem won!  Unfortunately, as a ghost-poet I never got any recognition. *sad face*

Also, I’m allergic to knitting and once upon a time I almost skied into Prince Charles but that’s a different story altogether…

4. What 3 words describe your style? 

Creative, eclectic and a bit of a dreamer…

5. What do you like to do when you are not blogging?

Play with my son. Do yoga and meditate. Watch films with and chat to BlueBeretDad.  Drink wine with my friends. Read.  Listen to Radio 4 podcasts.  Have chocolate cake for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  Not necessarily in that order.

And here I am with my dark secrets and all.

Now over to five remarkable bloggers:

  1. Time Waits for No Mum
  2. Beautiful Misbehaviour
  3. The Reading Residence
  4. Mum Turned Mom
  5. Pinkoddy
9 thoughts on “Blog Your Heart Out

  1. How infuriating with the poem! I’m guessing they didn’t tell you they were going to submit it to a competition?! Still, nice to know that, whether credited as the poet or not, your creation won 🙂 I didn’t know you’d been published in a magazine either, though I love your poems (and writing!) so am not surprised. Totally with you on the chocolate cake – I’ve just made a Gruffalo one for Tibbons’ First Birthday tea and have been breakfasting on the offcuts 🙂 I’m doing everyone a favour, saving it from the bin and landfill! 😉 Will respond in kind soon – thank you very muchly for the nomination!

    • Ha ha – it was meant to be a school project 🙂 I’m delighted you enjoy my poetry/writing – yeah, I didn’t advertise it as I am not very good at blowing my own trumpet! And I would love to see the pics of the Gruffalo cake 🙂 Look forward to reading your responses!

  2. Pingback: Blog Your Heart Out Award | mumturnedmom

Your turn to have a say...

