Autumnal Haiku

Last week when I talked about November  I was surprised to see how many of my readers liked this morose month and so one day I decided to try something new … 

I wrapped Peanut up in blankets:

  • he turned into a raging banshee
  • I took ten deep breaths
  • he showed signs of being open to bribery
  • I bribed him with with some dried fruit (this strategy works like a charm) and at the same time I corrupted his wee innocent soul …again
  • we went for a walk

My mission was to become friends with November.

How did it go? I will leave it up to you to decide.

Here are some snippets from my diary entries from the last few days:

morning air pinched

our cheeks

rosebuds opened

electric eels reel

at our feet

at Waverley Station

hummingbirds flutter inside

bathroom heater

frost turns broken glass into art

A Piece of Advice for All Masterchef Hopefuls

If in doubt

fry

some trout

SAM_2011

If you enjoy my poetry you may like my collection Letters to Peanut, now available both as an e-book and in paperback.


Prose for Thought
34 thoughts on “Autumnal Haiku

  1. I love Autumn. It doesn’t really happen here or in SA and I remember the wonder of my first Scottish Autumn. There’s a lot to love about this month. Glad you’re finding some of its charms.

  2. Your haiku are great, I love the reference to Waverley, made me a wee bit homesick 🙂 But, the last one made me laugh out loud 🙂 We’ve been incredibly lucky over here with a mild, but crisp, blue sky November, so at the movement I’m a fan! Over in Edinburgh, never my favourite month 🙂 Although Jan/Feb are worse…!

  3. I adore the line about pinched cheeks. I do love your Haiku, and I must openly admit to my ignorance as to how to structure one, but I’d love to give writing one a go! Any tips about how to go about writing one??? And I am so delighted for your book too – I will be ordering one after all the Christmas expenditure goes through 🙂 xx

    • Aw – thank you! The traditional haiku follows very strict rules of numbers of syllables in each line, use of certain images etc. but I bend the rules all the time so I would probably be shunned by true haiku traditionalists! It is a very good exercise in trying to convey as much as possible with very few words _ I look froward to reading your attempts at it 🙂

  4. Finally getting round to catching up on Prose4T etc (been a busy weekend organising my writing group’s online Advent Calendar!) to see that having said I will post autumnal Haiku next week you’ve beaten me to it! I am NOT a copy cat… we just both had the same idea at the same time! Love the reeling electric eels, and yes – frost DOES turn broken glass to art 🙂

Your turn to have a say...

